Skip to Content

Professional Learning

Professional Learning banner

Defining Asia

The Australian Curriculum describes Asia as follows:

Asia can be defined in geographical terms, but it can also be described in terms of cultural, religious, historical and language boundaries or commonalities.

While Asia includes West and Central Asia, in Australian schools studies of Asia will pay particular attention to the sub-regions of:

    • North-east Asia, including China, Mongolia, Japan, North Korea, South Korea and Taiwan
    • South-east Asia, including Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma), Thailand, Malaysia, Brunei, Singapore, Vietnam, Laos, East Timor, the Philippines and Cambodia
    • South Asia, including India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and the Maldives.

From The Australian Curriculum: Asia and Australia's engagement with Asia.

Map of Asia

Map of Asia

Printable map

back to top